Historie, současnost

History, Sights

The first settlement was founded in the first half of the 16th century. At the end of the 19th century the town became more prominent thanks to the railway connection Pilsen - Bavaria featuring the longest tunnel in the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Tourists started visiting this area more and more, but WWII put a stop to any further development.  Tourism was revived again at the beginning of the 1960’s when a border crossing point was reopened. But the true tourist boom came post 1990 when the borders were opened. Železná Ruda became an important centre for tourism throughout the year. 

The main feature of the town is undoubtedly the Church of St Mary the Helper from Hvězda built in the Baroque style by the Count Wolf Jindřich Nothaf of Wernbergu during 1729 –1732. One will notice the unusual hexagram layout of the Church and two cupolas with stars. The interior boasts one of the two copies of the picture of the Madonna with a Child by Lucas Cranach.

Other points of interests: St Anthony Chapel and St Barbara Chapel,  Stations of the Cross with the St Anne Chapel, the Špičák railway tunnel (the longest tunnel in the CR being 1747 long),  Manor House, Barabů cemetery, Prince Chapel, Memorial to  Adolf Kašpar


The town also houses several restaurants, pizza places, cafés, bars, exchange offices, shopping centres, hairdressers´, beauticians, sun parlours, Casinos, betting office Fortuna, taxi service, garages, banks: Česká Spořitelna, ČSOB Banka, 2 cash machines, pharmacy, doctor’s, municipal authorities, police.